Monday, August 24, 2015

An Overview of the Nervous System (Part 1)

An overview of the nervous system (Part I):

The human nervous system is a complex union composed of the brain, spinal cord, and all associated nerves, ganglia, nuclei, and sense organs. This system is responsible for mediating human behavior.

The brain is a highly specialized part of the nervous system. The brain is responsible for higher level functions including the ability to reason and to use a complex language system.

Cerebral Hemispheres:
The cerebral hemispheres are the major divisions of the brain. Located in the brain and responsible for dividing the brain into individual hemispheres which have different responsibilities.

Four Lobes:
The four lobes of the human brain consist of the frontal lobe, occipital lobe, temporal lobe, and parietal lobe. These lobes are the major landmarks of the human brain. Respectively, each of the four lobes is said to be responsible for specific functions.

Fissures are the grooves in the brain. They are the valleys. These grooves are found on the surface of the human brain and serve no specific function except to serve as landmarks and cross sections of the human brains four lobes.